Help Protect Our Pets from Domestic Abuse & Abandonment – Where Does Your State Stand??
Many states are now adopting laws and legislation to protect our furred companions from cruelties they are far too often subjected to.
It’s up to us to let our legislators know we want these important pieces of legislation to take effect! Here are a few coming up. Please click on the link provided and you can even send a letter to your state contact thru the American Humane Association website!Â Be proactive!
Nebraska Residents –Help protect animals from abandonment
The Nebraska Legislature is considering a bill that would provide felony penalties for injury or death of a companion animal caused by abandonment. Ask your state senator to support this bill and help protect animals. (read the full issue here)
Texas Residents – Help protect Texasâ€™ pets from domestic abuse
The Texas House of Representatives is considering a bill that would allow pets to be included in protective orders. Help address a serious human and animal welfare issue by asking your representative to support this bill! (read the full issue here)
Wisconsin Residents – Help protect Wisconsinâ€™s pets from domestic abuse
The Wisconsin Senate is considering a bill that would allow pets to be included in domestic abuse restraining orders. Contact your senator and help us address a serious human and animal welfare issue! (read the full issue here)
Where does your state stand on animal cruelty laws?
There are 8 states without felony provisions for cruelty to animals: Alaska, Arkansas, Hawaii, Idaho, Mississippi, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Utah.
|Felony:||Whether there are felony provisions for animal cruelty in the specified state.|
|Year:||Year the felony law was enacted, if applicable.|
|Max. Jail:||Maximum amount of jail time allowable by law under the felony provisions.|
|Max. Fine:||Maximum fine allowable by law.|
|Counseling:||Whether state law allows mandatory counseling to be ordered as part of sentencing.|
|Ban:||Whether state law allows for a temporary or permanent ban on animal ownership as part of sentencing.|
|PPO:||Whether state law can include animals in protection orders (pet protective orders).|
|New Hampshire||1994||7 years||$4,000|
|New Jersey||2001||5 years||$15,000|
|New Mexico||1999||18 months||$5,000|
|New York||1999||2 years||$5,000|
|North Carolina||1998||6 months||$1,000|
|North Dakota||1 years||$2,000|
|Rhode Island||1896||2 years||$1,000|
|South Carolina||2000||5 years||$5,000|
|South Dakota||1 years||$1,000|
|West Virgnia||2003||5 years||$5,000|
|HSUS State Cruelty Chart (PDF)|
|HSUS: Animal Cruelty Laws – Where Does Your State Stand?|
|ASPCA: Lobby for Animals|
Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!